Christian Nondualism

Christian Nondualism is a mysticism that does not try to escape from the world. Instead, it seeks to fully experience the world, in both a theoretical and a pre-theoretical way, from out of our nondual center or heart. It seeks a nondual perspective for understanding the nature of our selfhood, of our relation to God, of our relation to others, and our relation to the world. In my books and on this blog, I compare this with other traditions, both eastern and western, and to understand what the specific dualisms are that each tradition seeks to overcome, such as the dualism between body and soul.  Click on the menu above for details on my books and for access to published papers on these and other topics.

2 thoughts on “Christian Nondualism

    • Thank you, Derek for your generosity in allowing downloads of your interesting book, a mix of travel through British Columbia and reflections on meditation. There are many things I liked in what you have written; it reminded me of mantra meditations at Christ Church after listening to tapes of John Main, of my many pleasant stays at Benedictine monasteries, of my experience with Quaker stillness. I appreciated your reference to April DeConick, whose writings I follow. However, there were parts of your book that troubled me. In my book on Abhishiktananda, I have outlined various kinds of nondualism, depending on what the dualism is that is sought to be avoided. I do not regard asceticism, whether by the Desert Fathers or by later mystics, as nondualism. On the contrary, escape from the world, and from our desires of food and sex, constitute another dualism. Nor do I agree that Buddhism’s idea of the non-self can be reconciled with a search for the true self. And I believe Jung was right that we can never totally transcend our ego in this life, since we would then be dead. Finally, I think it is a mistake to view Jesus’s language on apocalyptic and eschatology in a psychologistic way as referring to an awakening. I believe that he expected a literal end to the present world, and judgment by God, assisted by his return as the Son of Man. He did call for an awakening, but it was an awakening to imminent judgment. His early followers had the same view, and it was this expectation that led the saints in Jerusalem to hold their goods in common, and that led Paul to recommend that people should not marry but remain single. I believe that these views were mistaken. Nondualism should help us to live in the world, and should celebrate family and marriage. I have been helped by the Jewish scholar Daniel Boyarin who has shown how rabbinical Judaism, when it diverged from the Judaism of the early church, chose to celebrate marriage, regarded children are a blessing, and avoided apocalyptic and asceticism. See his books A Radical Jew: Paul and the Politics of Identity (1994) and Carnal Israel: Reading Sex in Talmudic Culture (1993).

      Like

Leave a Reply

